Bob Palensky Scholarship

The Bob Palensky Scholarship, in the amount of $250, will be presented to an outstanding high school senior who will attend any Nebraska college or university and participate in the band program their freshman year.
The Bob Palensky Memorial Scholarship was established in the 1999-2000 school year in the memory of Bob Palensky beloved Band Director from Crete and David City, who was tragically killed in a car accident in June of 1998. Bob was serving as the secretary on the NSBA Board at the time of his death.


2007 - B.J. Layher Springfield, Platteview High School

2008 - Zachary Nathan, Norfolk Senior High School

2009 - Alisa Marie Stuckert

2010 - Morgan Lyons, Plattsmouth high School

2011 - Krista Couton, Bishop Neumann (Wahoo)

2012 - Madisen Geiler, Waverly High School

2013 - No applicants

2014 - Michaela Steager, Bishop Neumann (Wahoo)

2015 - Alyssa Pracht, Waverly High School

2016 - Nick Brown, Waverly High School

2017 - Trey Switzer, Gretna High School

2018 - DeVere Larington, Ogallala High School

2019 - Alisha Vavra, Centennial High School

2020 - Trinity Seery, Oakland-Craig High School

2021 - Sarah Beach, Ponca High School & Ashlyn Ibero, Scottsbluff High School

2022 - Anna Leahy, Papillion-LaVista South High School & Isabella Poppe, St. Cecilia (Hastings)

Nebraska State Bandmasters Association
NSBA Archives
Please send updates, errors, or omissions to