Duane E. Johnson: Duane is a retired Nebraska music educator: He is a graduate of Hastings College and has a Master's Degree from Chadron State College. He is the recipient of two Honorary Doctor's degrees (Hastings College and Vandercook College of Music). His teaching career spanned 50 years; serving as Band Director at Doniphan, Crawford, Broken Bow, Sidney and 33 years at Hastings College.

Duane is a 1977 recipient of the Donald A Lentz "Outstanding Bandmaster Award;" was inducted into the Music Educators Hall of Fame in 1980; received the Outstanding Music Educators Award from the National Federation of interscholastic Music Association in 1995; received a Distinguished Service Award from the Nebraska School Activities Association in 1995; was inducted into "Pro Rege" at Hastings College and has received numerous other awards. He is a Past-President of Nebraska Music Educator's Association and the Nebraska State Bandmasters Association. He has served as a Clinician, Adjudicator and advisor to other music programs in several states. He has had a Brass Choir at his church for 30 years and has served as a Choir Director for over 50 years.

Bob Maag: Bob is a retired Nebraska music educator. He is a graduate of the University of Nebraska-Lincoln with a Bachelor and Master Degrees in Music Education. Bob taught instrumental music at Waverly District #145 from 1958-1991. In 1983, as part of the community’s recognition of his 25th year at Waverly, the Bob Maag Dedication scholarship was established and has been awarded annually.

Bob was awarded the Donald A. Lentz “Outstanding Bandmaster Award” in 1988. He has been an adjudicator at numerous marching and concert competitions; guest director of several honor bands in Nebraska and one in Pennsylvania. He is a Charter/Lifetime member and Past-President f NSBA. He is a lifetime member and past All-State Band Chair of NMEA.


Phil Fahrlander: Phil is a retired Nebraska music educator. He is a graduate of Peru State College and holds Master’s Degree from Kearney State College. (Now UNK) He was band director at Diller, North Loup-Scotia and Minden High School fm 1968 until retiring in 1997.

Phil was awarded the Don Lentz “Outstanding Bandmaster Award” in 1997. He is recipient of numerous other awards including the Cooper Foundation Award for excellence in teaching, Outstanding Education Award from Jaycees and Distinguished Service Award from NMEA. He is a Past-President of NSBA and a past-chair of Band Affairs for NM. He has designed covers for the NMEA Journal, covers and logos for NSBA and was author of “From the Fahr side: articles that appeared regularly in the NMEA Journal.


Sandra Smith: Sandra is the daughter of Duane E. Johnson. She has a degree in English, Journalism and Spanish from Hasting College. She is a published writer and teaches at the Sylvan Center in Kearney.


Marilyn Johnson: Marilyn is the wife of Duane E. Johnson. She served for many years as a church secretary and has done periodic proofing for the Hastings College Music Dept., or Duane personally, published the church newsletter while church secretary and for NMEA and NSBA while Duane was president.


David Young: Dave is a retired Nebraska music educator. He is a graduate of The College of Emporia (Emporia, KS) and holds Master’s Degree from Wichita State University. He was the band director at Cottonwood Falls and Sedgwick High Schools in Kansas, and taught at Schuyler Central (9 years), Bellevue East (21 years), and was an assistant band director at Lincoln Southeast for 14 years. He retired in 2014 after 51 years of teaching,

Dave is a recipient of the NSBA Donald A Lentz "Outstanding Bandmaster Award;" the NMEA Hall of Fame, and two NSBA Johnson Distinguished Service Awards. He is a Past-President, past secretary, marching chair, and 14 years as the web master.

Dave has inputted the “History of the Band Movement in Nebraska” and many other articles and photos from the NSBA Archives at Hastings.


This book was written as an NSBA project it was proposed by an earlier Executive Board but final approval was a result of action by the 2005-2006 officers. They are as follows:

President: Dick Marolf
Immediate Past-President: Cathy Keiser
President-Elect: Jim Schulz
Secretary: Sarah Boeka
Treasurer: Joann Couton
Middle School Chair: Chris Johnson
State Membership Chair: Carola Winkle
Exhibits Chair: Marilyn Godby
Awards Chair: Larry Rathbun
Marching Band Chair: Byron Braasch
Concert Band Chair: Michelle Bluford
Webmaster: David Young

A word of special thanks to everyone who contributed to this book!

Thanks to NSAA for the use of their Archives.

Nebraska State Bandmasters Association
NSBA Archives