On March 6, 2009, the NSBA Distinguished Service Award was renamed
The Duane E. Johnson Distingushed Service Award.

Duane E JohDuane Johnsonnson is a retired Nebraska music educator: He is a graduate of Hastings College and has a Master's Degree from Chadron State College. He is the recipient of two Honorary Doctor's degrees (Hastings College and Vandercook College of Music). His teaching career spanned 50 years; serving as Band Director at Doniphan, Crawford, Broken Bow, Sidney and 33 years at Hastings College.

Duane is a 1977 recipient of the Donald A Lentz "Outstanding Bandmaster Award;" was inducted into the Music Educators Hall of Fame in 1980; received the Outstanding Music Educators Award from the National Federation of lnterschoastic Music Association in 1995; received a Distinguished Service Award from the Nebraska School Activities Association in 1995; was inducted into "Pro Rege" at Hastings College and has received numerous other awards. He is a Past-President of Nebraska Music Educator's Association and the Nebraska State Bandmasters Association. He has served as a Clinician, Adjudicator and advisor to other mujsic programs in several states. He has had a Brass Choir at his church for 30 years and has served as a Choir Director for over 50 years.

History of The Band Movement
In Nebraska

Duane E. Johnson and
Bob Maag

2004 - Dr Bill Winkle & Gail Carpenter-Johnson

2005 - Ann Davis, Duane Schulz, Chris Tucker

2006 - Bob Maag & Duane Johnson

2007 - Stanley Johnson for organizing and running the Class D All-State Band.
Dr. Gary Davis for suppoting and hosting the NSBA 8th Grade All-State Band.


2008 -
Brian Anderson - Work on the Snider Video
Jim & Nathan(absent) Schulz - Work on the Snider Video
Marilyn Godby - Chairperson of our Exhibitors for many years!
Byron Braasch - Work on developing new marching band ballots.
Dave Young -Developing our webste. (Not Pictured)

2009 - Ron Allen & Duane E Johnson

2010 - Ken Molzer, Roger Thaden & Jeff Peabody

2011 - Milton & Janet Bemis for service/food at summer convention.
UNO Instrumental Music Department for hosting Concert Band Festival.
UNK Instrumental Music Department for hosing 8th grade All-State

2012 - Bobby Layne.


2013 -Roger Groth, Judy Bush, Terri Lee,
Joyce Patch and Lance Nielsen.

2014 - Dr. Jay W. Gilbert & Dr. James Saker

2015 - Barb Mock & Dave Young

2016 - Gail Carpenter-Johnson & Mark Nealeigh